Dan O

Trial Member
Reaction score
I would like to introduce myself. Call me Dano. I have been brewing for 40+ years on and off. Started with extracts and went to all grain, but now am back doing extracts. I also like to make wine and liqueurs. I have a fruit wine garden and grow 7 varieties of hops. Looking forward to interacting with the forum.

Welcome to BF!

Welcome!
What sort of beers do you like?
And what hops are you growing?

Very few beers I don't like. As my wife likes dark beers I brew porters, dunkles, stouts. I can crush pale ales, ipas , and other hoppy american beers. I have a brew area in my garage where I can regulate temp. I am growing Cenntenial, Chinook, Magnum, Nugget, Cascade, Tahoma, and Mt. Hood hops. The hops are getting close to harvest time and I was thinking I might try wet hopping for the first time. Maybe like a Sierra Nevada pale ale style. Any ideas? I am not hard core. It's a hobby I enjoy in my retirement. Thanks for the replies. Dano

Very few beers I don't like. As my wife likes dark beers I brew porters, dunkles, stouts. I can crush pale ales, ipas , and other hoppy american beers. I have a brew area in my garage where I can regulate temp. I am growing Cenntenial, Chinook, Magnum, Nugget, Cascade, Tahoma, and Mt. Hood hops. The hops are getting close to harvest time and I was thinking I might try wet hopping for the first time. Maybe like a Sierra Nevada pale ale style. Any ideas? I am not hard core. It's a hobby I enjoy in my retirement. Thanks for the replies. Dano
I wet-hopped a beer several years ago with Centennial. I did not notice much difference to my usual pellets, but I strongly believe that I miscalculated the amount and used too little. Beer was ok, just not spectacular.

Welcome, I also have quite eclectic tastes in beer and wine. I try pairing according to meals although don't always get that right but it is still as you say an enjoyable and rewarding hobby.